Books

Coming from Simon and Schuster 9/1

Image

A sobering and scary (and fascinating) book--a look at where we're going if we don't quickly get our act together. And it's replete with clues about how we could indeed make the changes that would make this fiction, not prophecy.

Bill McKibben

This vivid, terrifying, and galvanizing novel reveals our future world after previous generations failed to halt climate change—perfect for fans of The Drowned World and World War Z.

2084: Global warming has proven worse than even the direst predictions scientists had made at the turn of the century. No country—and no one—has remained unscathed. Through interviews with scientists, political leaders, and citizens around the globe, this riveting oral history describes in graphic detail the irreversible effects the Great Warming has had on humankind and the planet.

In short chapters about topics like sea level rise, drought, migration, war, and more, The 2084 Report brings global warming to life, revealing a new reality in which Rotterdam doesn’t exist, Phoenix has no electricity, and Canada is part of the United States. From wars over limited resources to the en masse migrations of entire countries and the rising suicide rate, the characters describe other issues they are confronting in the world they share with the next two generations.

Simultaneously fascinating and frightening, The 2084 Report will inspire you to start conversations and take action.

Click image to read a sample and order

If the hypothesis of the impact is correct (and I am very impressed with the data) it is perhaps the most important hypothesis in the Earth Sciences, with ramifications in other fields, since plate tectonics. This is particularly so for its consequences on the history of peoples over the last 12,800 years.

UCSB Professor Ed Keller

Now Available to Publishers

Image

Scientists have picked the lock that guards the Moon's secrets and the door is swinging open. Behind it lies an event of indescribable horror.

From the Preface

The Consensus on Anthropogenic Global Warming

Anthropogenic Global Warming: Publishing Scientists Unanimous in 2019

Stacks Image 4482040

Powell, J. (2020). Scientists Unanimous on Anthropogenic Global Warming in 2019. Bulletin of Science, Technology & Society.
https://doi.org/10.1177%2F0270467620922151
The article is free to download or read online.
See Methodology.


Original Survey Covering Jan-Aug 2019
Powell, J. (2019). Scientists Reach 100% Consensus on Anthropogenic Global Warming. Bulletin of Science, Technology & Society. https://doi.org/10.1177/0270467619886266


James Lawrence Powell
© 2020 Contact Me